Straight-Up Good

Reason #1383509 why Xyrem is worth all the hassle: 

Pre-Xyrem, I was taking 150mg of Nuvigil (armodofinil) and 40-60mg of Adderall a day, plus coffee, and I was still a zombie, sleeping all the time and low, low functioning. I might as well have been taking sugar pills for all the good those stimulants did — they certainly didn’t keep me awake!

I have been on Xyrem for a total of four months now, titrating up slooowly. About a month ago I got up to 3.5g twice a night, which is the lowest dose that works for me (I start feeling better during the day on this dose). I’ve stayed at 3.5g since then.

I now take 10mg of Adderall to wake up in the morning and that’s it. That’s it! I sleep for about 8 hours a night and take one 20-minute nap in the afternoon, if at all. I don’t even drink coffee anymore!

And here’s the kicker: I feel pretty decent throughout the day, and it’s my own energy, not fake-feeling stimulant energy. It feels so natural, it’s amazing. Soon I hope to go from “pretty decent” to straight-up “good”. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Straight-Up Good

  1. Dayna says:

    I am absolutely delighted to receive this news! I do hope all continues on this upward trend and through your sharing your experience with these medications you are able to encourage and give hope to others who suffer with narcolepsy.

    Like

  2. mirjohnson says:

    Yay!

    I mentioned I’m slowly increasing my dose in another comment. I’m just at 2.5 right now, still super tired and multiple naps per day…but it’s still a little better than pre-Xyrem! Noticing some side effects, but hopeful that by going really slow my body will adjust to each dose and I can get up to at least 3.0g (I’m increasing by .25 every 2 weeks.)

    So glad to hear slow and steady has been positive for you! 🙂 thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

