Cultural Differences: Hola, Guapa!

In case I haven’t made this clear already, everything in Spain is different. Usually, this is kind of cool and exciting and overwhelming all at once, but sometimes it’s just strange.

One of the things that’s been super weird is the fact that Spaniards love to make comments about your appearance. The way you look is a topic that is plenty open for discussion (just like the question “How much money do you make?” and “How many boyfriends have you had?”. But I digress).

If Spaniards think you’re pretty, you’ll know it, and you’ll know it multiple times a day, because everywhere you go there will be somebody who says “guapa” to you before resuming the conversation they’re having with their friends.

It’s not just a creepy middle-aged dude thing, either — I’ve gotten the “guapa” comment from old women and girls my age. It’s not really sexual harassment, either, the way it would be in the States. It’s just a stranger making an unsolicited comment about your appearance. You know, totally normal, acceptable behavior. (Uh…)

At this point, a trip to the grocery store wouldn’t feel complete without passing a couple of old men who mutter “Que guapa”. Entering a classroom without hearing the girls squeal “Guapaaa!” would make me feel like I’m losing my touch.

The only time I’ve every really felt uncomfortable about being “guapa” was when I was introducing myself to one of my classes. I asked if anybody had questions for me, and one 13-year-old boy raised his hand and said, “My question. How is it that you are so pretty?”

I was so taken aback by how blatantly inappropriate this was that I responded by looking at the floor until Juanra, the teacher I was working with, restored order in the classroom. In what world is it okay for a student to make comments like that about a teacher?! When in Spain, I guess…

3 thoughts on “Cultural Differences: Hola, Guapa!

Leave a Reply

