Automatic Behavior

Automatic behaviour:

noun.

  1. A behavior performed without conscious knowledge and not under conscious control. Can be observed in a variety of contexts, including narcolepsy. Most of the time, the events cannot be recalled by the subject.
  2. The most annoying thing ever.

Case in point: Yesterday, I couldn’t find my slippers. Slippers are essential in Spain — apparently, walking around the house barefoot is the epitome of uncivilized. This came as a bit of a surprise to me. In the States, I think it’s generally considered rude to keep your shoes on in the house, since you’d be tracking filth from outside all over the place.

But this is a cultural difference. In Spain, shoes at all times are a must, so house slippers are the thing to have.

And yesterday, I couldn’t find mine.

FullSizeRender (6)

This is my bed. There was something lumpy under the sheets.

FullSizeRender (5)

Oh, look! My slippers! Right where I left them.

Under the bedsheets.

Where they belong.

How kind of my sleep self to put away my shoes for me.

Thank you for tidying up, Sleep Elaine. Always helping out. Never making life difficult. Just helping.

4 thoughts on “Automatic Behavior

  1. Clem from France says:

    How many times have I found myself waking up from a nap, going to the kitchen and said : “Ha. I guess I did wash the dishes.”
    Or “That’s what I ate for lunch !” or even “Well…I guess I did eat something.”
    (Funny how my automatic behaviours are mostly related to food. Coincidence…I don’t think so. 😉 )
    CREEPIEST FEELING EVER.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Absolutely! It’s sooo disorienting. My automatic behaviors are never helpful things like washing the dishes, though, unfortunately! Your sleep self must be smarter than mine 😉
      The other day I was buying sheets at Ikea, and my sleep self added not one but two 80-euro duvets to my bag, neither of which I needed… I didn’t realize until the cashier had already rung them up! Awkward!

      Like

  2. I wish my sleep self washed dishes too! Instead, it usually gets into mischief regarding food. I cannot count a fraction of the times I have started eating a big bowl of popcorn, fell asleep and then woke up to find all the popcorn was gone! I wasn’t even awake to enjoy eating it! It’s very frustrating… just like when I open the peanut butter jar to have just a spoonful or two… then wake up awhile later to find a 1/4 of the jar eaten! That’s the worst!

    Like

Leave a Reply

