Hello.

So, listen. I’m a 21-year-old, blonde-haired, blue-eyed, middle-class American girl, average in all ways except two: I’m about to move to Spain to teach English, and I have narcolepsy. Because I am also a millennial, and therefore hopelessly self-absorbed, I have decided to start a blog about these two interesting parts of my life. With any luck, you’ll find my experiences as endlessly fascinating as I myself consider them to be.

IMG_0392self-absorbed AND cute as a button!

I’m pretty sure that’s the worst blog introduction ever, I didn’t mean for it to come out so sarcastic! But I’ve been sitting here for about half an hour and can’t think of anything else to add, so I guess it’ll have to do.

4 thoughts on “Hello.

    • Haha I knoooow, I can’t think of anything more boring than falling asleep all the time :/ SLANTY FACE. Hopefully I’ll get into trouble soon so I’ll have something interesting to write about.

      Like

  1. Brooke says:

    Elaine! You are adorable and I love your blog. I have read every entry tonight. My son, Owen, has narcolepsy. He was diagnosed a year and a half ago at age 10. Julie Flygare has been so inspirational to me, and I saw a link to you blog on her blog. I love you for talking about narcolepsy and paving the way for Owen to be brave and honest about his struggles. ❤️❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow Brooke, thank you so much for your kind words! That means so much to me. I started this blog with the hopes that other PWN and their families could relate, so I’m glad you’ve found what I’ve written to be relevant! Tell Owen I wish him all the best! My little brother was diagnosed with N/C when he was 14, 3 years ago, after suffering for a long time. I can’t imagine having to live with narcolepsy when you’re so young, it’s such a horrible thing. But kids with narcolepsy seem to be uncommonly kind, mature and resilient — the best kind of people! 🙂 Our neurologist always tells my brother and I that our lives are going to look different from the lives of other people, but that we can still accomplish whatever we want to and be whoever we want to be. I hope Owen knows the same! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

